Skip to main content

Philosophy

Resources available for the study of Philosophy

Mind & Thought

Mind/Brain Resources: A Research Aid List of links for researchers in cognitive science and philosophy of mind
http://www.psychologydegree.net/resources/mindbrain-resources/

This Web bibliography includes links to on-line journals, on-line tables of contents, technical reports, and research papers. Subjects covered include artificial intelligence, neuroscience, philosophy, psychology, and other cognative sciences. Most of the linked sites are secondary in nature, but many of them in turn link to primary sources.

Materialism and the Mind-Body Problem / Edited by David M. Rosenthal. Englewood Cliffs, N.J. : Prentice-Hall, 1971.
Essays on materialism from both the philosophical and psychological perspectives by prominent philosophers. The essays are primary sources, written with non-technical language. There is a bibliography in the back of the book.

Oxford Companion to the Mind / Edited by Richard L. Gregory and O. L. Zangwill. Oxford, New York : Oxford University Press, 1987.
Contains 1001 entries arranged alphabetically, looking at the mind from a scientific viewpoint. Some longer entries are almost short essays. Longer ones have a bibliography at the end of the article. There are many cross-references. Some entries have graphs, charts, and illustrations. Includes entries on prominent people. The entries are mostly clear and easily understood, using non-technical language.

The Psychology of Aristotle / Franz Clemens Brentano; Translated by Rolf George. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1977.
Reconstruction of Aristotle's theory of perception and thought. This work uses plain language that is easily understood by the beginner.

The Mind and Beyond / Alexandria, VA. : Time-Life Books, 1991.
Part of the Time-Life Mysteries of the Unknown series, this work details the difference between the physical brain of humans, and the mind as a source of power that has not been fully explored by science. Discusses the mind, the brain, dualism, consciousness, and self. Easily understood chapters with lots of illustrations. Includes bibliography and index at end of book.