Skip to main content

Fashion and Interior Design

Fashion Merchandising, Interior Design, Textiles: Consumer & Family Sciences Departmental Research Guide

Guides

Monographic Reference Works

The following books in the Helm Library Reference Section are recommended for use:

  • The Chronicle of Western Fashion Ref CT 511 .P42 1991
  • Complete History of Costume & Fashion from Ancient Egypt to the Present Day: Ref GT375 .C67 2001
  • Costume of the Western World: pictorial guide and glossary Ref GT 513 .Y37 1980
  • Costume of the Western World: pictorial guide and glossary Ref GT 513 .Y37 1980
  • Encyclopedia of Embroidery Techniques: Ref TT770 .B8884 1994
  • Encyclopedia of Fashion: Ref GT 507 .O53 1986
  • Encyclopedia of Textiles Ref TS 1309 .J47 1992
  • Fairchild's Dictionary of textiles Ref TS 1309 .F34 1996

The following books in the Visual & Performing Arts Library (VPAL) are recommended for use:

  • In An Influential Fashion: An Encyclopedia of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Fashion Designer and Retailers Who Transformed Dress: VPAL Ref TT505 .A1 I5 2002
  • Textiles for early Victorian Clothing, 1850-1880: A Workbook of Swatches and Information: Ref TS1765 .G74 2002
  • Contemporary Fashion: VPAL Ref TT505 .A1 C66 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion VPAL Ref GT 507 .E53 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Interior Design: VPAL Ref NK1165 .E43X 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Interior Design: VPAL Ref NK1165 .E43X 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Interior Design: VPAL Ref NK1165 .E43X 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Interior Design: VPAL Ref NK1165 .E43X 1997
  • Ethnic Dress: VPAL Ref GT511 .K46 1995
  • The Fairchild Dictionary of Fashion VPAL Ref TT 503 .C34 2003
  • The Guide to Historical Costume VPAL TT 503 .B33 1995
  • In An Influential Fashion: An Encyclopedia of Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Fashion Designer and Retailers Who Transformed Dress: VPAL Ref TT505 .A1 I5 2002
  • World Textiles: A Visual Guide to Traditional Techniques: VPAL Ref NK8806 .G55x 1999

The following books in the Kentucky Library are recommended for use:

  • Dressed for the Photographer Kentucky Library GT 610.S42
  • Men’s Fashion Illustrated Kentucky Library GT610.M46
  • Blueprints of Fashion Kentucky Library GT 615 .L35
  • Clothing and Accessories from the 40s, 50s, & 60s Kentucky Library GT 596 .E9
  • History of 20th Century Fashion Kentucky Library GT 596 .E9
  • A History of Men’s Fashion Kentucky Library GT 1710 .C44

Books

To Shelf-Browse for Books (using main Library of Congress Subject Divisions)

Books on subjects associated with this field are shelved under the call number ranges listed below. Use TOPCAT to search for specific items in the collection, or more narrowly-defined subjects.

Subject Call # range
Costume, Dress, Fashion  GT500-GT2370
Children - Costumes GT1730
Interior Decoration, House Decoration NK1700-NK2795
Costume  GT1730NK4700-NK4890
Textiles NK8800-NK9505.5
Clothing Trade; Clothing and Dress; Clothing Manufacture; Dressmaking; Tailoring TT490-TT695

Other key words to search: Children's costume ------- Designers ------- Dressmaking materials ------- Dyes and dyeing ------- Fibers ------- Fashion ------- Fashion design ------- Fashion designers ------- Fashion drawing ------- Fashion history ------- Felt work ------- Hand weaving ------- Lace and lace making ------- Needlework ------- Textiles ------- Textile crafts ------- Textile design ------- Textile fabrics ------- Textile industry ------- Textile printing ------- Wedding costume ------- Women fashion designers

Some Helpful Research Books

Subject Guide

Katherine Pennavaria's picture
Katherine Pennavaria
Contact:
Visual & Performing Arts Library

Cravens Office 207

(270) 745-6119

k.pennavaria@wku.edu
Website