WKU-Provided Databases for Research in Entrepreneurship
The databases below are offered through Western Kentucky University Libraries. Off-campus access requires a WKU authorized user name (NetID) and password. Non-affiliated researchers can access these resources on-campus, however, using guest access in the Information Commons at Cravens Library.
IBISWorld is a great resource for detailed marketing information on very specific industries and types of businesses. They employ a team of expert analysts whose mission is comprehensive research of economic, demographic and government data.
700 full text titles with coverage back to 1991 with indexing back to 1971 in the fields of business, law, management, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, and competitive and product information.
Business Source Premier contains the full text of over 2,200 journals in the fields of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, law, and economics. Also offers market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for entrepreneurs or anyone interested in starting a small business. It offers full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and books, as well as support for all aspects of planning, financing and managing a business.
LexisNexis Academic provides access to over 10,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications, including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
WKU’s core newspaper database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Abstracting and indexing are available for the more than 1,370 newspapers in ProQuest Newsstand; of these, over 1,270 are full text.
ThomasNet.com is the leading product sourcing and supplier discovery platform for procurement professionals, engineers, plant & facility management personnel, small business owners and other occasional buyers.
Yahoo! Finance is a great source for financial information on a company. Use it to find current stock quotes, historical prices, financial data (e.g. income statements, balance sheets, cash flow), SEC filings, statistical data, and industry information. You can also compare a company's performance to that of its competitors.
Similar to Yahoo! Finance, Bloomberg provides access to stock prices, market data, and news stories. The site can be can be very helpful in researching international companies, as it allows you to search news stories by economic region (e.g. Latin America).
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used in classifying business establishments by industry, adopted in 1997 to replace the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This lookup page from the Census Bureau will help to find codes in either system.
The Census Business Builder (CBB) is a suite of services that provide selected demographic and economic data from the Census Bureau tailored to specific types of users in a simple to access and use format.
A highly original online network designed to connect inventors and innovators with those needing their services. The heart of this system is a “digital hub” composed of three separate databases: one lists inventions and innovations needing investors, another is a manufacturing and expertise registry, while a third allows companies to post current problems to connect with those who can help them.