All legal citations are basically the same. That is, the first number always tells you which volume to go to; the abbreviation tells you which set of books to consult; and the second number tells you where in the volume to look. Depending on the set of books, you may consult a title and part (e.g., CFR) or a chapter and section (e.g., KRS). Once the set is found, one can tell from the spine labeling how it is organized. You may come across this symbol: § This means "section." §§ means "sections."
Databases for Basic Legal Research
WKU Libraries provides the following databases which are helpful for legal research.
Contains articles (called annotations) on specific legal topics. They provide background, analysis, and citations to relevant cases, statutes, law review articles, and other annotations. They read more like a law review article than a legal encyclopedia.
HeinOnline contains cover-to-cover full-page images for all issues of over 1,200 legal journals, cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and English Reports Full Reprint (1694-1867). HeinOnline has all issues of the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Statutes at Large, plus all issues of the Congressional Record (1873 to present), the Annals of Congress (1789-1924), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). Also includes many sources for international law, United Nations, and treaty research.
Search the full-text of all these titles: The Oxford Companion to American Law The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia Guide to Latin in International Law A Dictionary of Law A Dictionary of Law Enforcement The New Oxford Companion to Law The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions