A sample of the Works Progress Administration's interviews of former slaves from 1936-1938. For the entire collection, see George P. Rawick, ed. The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1972-9.
The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
From Yale University, a collection of digitized images and historic books. Users can perform advanced searches by genre (ex. Cabinet photographs) and many historic books are digitized or can be found via Google Books.
The Black Abolitionist Digital Archive is a collection of over 800 speeches by antebellum blacks and 1,000 editorials from the period that paint a portrait of black involvement in the anti-slavery movement.
The Black Metropolis Research Consortium (BMRC) is a Chicago-based membership association of libraries, universities, and other archival institutions.The BMRC’s mission is to connect all who seek to document, share, understand and preserve Black experiences.
An online reference center and repository of materials on African American history, this site includes an online encyclopedia of nearly 3,000 entries, transcripts of over 300 speeches given between 1789 and 2012, 140 full text primary documents, bibliographies, timelines, and links to other digital collections including African American museums and research centers.
Also includes a Kentucky Source from the University of Kentucky - "Notable Kentucky African Americans Database".
The Colored Conventions Project is a digital humanities project team based at the University of Delaware that "'brings buried African American history to digital life' and attends to social justice activism in scholarship and research by offering an opportunity for deep engagement with 19th-century Black political organizing." The digital collection organizes conventions by year and location, and includes transcribed minutes. It also offers exhibits such as maps, information tables, The First National Convention, etc., as well as teaching resources, links to other research guides, bibliographies, and more.
The Digital Public Library of America is a portal that brings together the digital collections of libraries, archives, and museums across the country and makes them accessible to users anywhere online. A search engine on the homepage enables users to search by keyword and narrow results.
The Freedmen and Southern Society Project depicts the drama of emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners. With the aid of original essays, the documents presented convey with first-person immediacy the experiences of the liberated and can be found in the published series, Freedom: A Documentary History of Emancipation, 1861–1867.
Dickinson College is presenting materials of the period from 1840 to 1880 - currently focusing on digitizing their collection from Reconstruction between 1865-1870. Browse antebellum almanacs, for search the collection for people, places, events, major topics, primary sources like documents and images, or view their bibliographies.
From the Library of Congress are eight collections pertaining to African American History. Collections include: the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlets collection between 1818-1907, a Pamphlets collection from 1824-1909, African American Odyssey multiformat exhibit, Broadsides and Printed Ephemera ca. 1600-2000, Manuscript Division, Slave Narratives audio interviews 1932-1975, Slave Narratives, Federal Writers' Project 1936-1938, and Slavery and Law documents 1740-1860.
The Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection is 'a panoramic and eclectic review of African-American history and culture' from 1818-1907, with most resources published between 1875 and 1900. Includes works by Frederick Douglass, Booker T. Washington, Ida B. Wells-Barnett, Benjamin W. Arnett, Alexander Crummel, Emanuel Love, and more.
Online digitized images collections provided by the Library of Congress. You can browse each collection, such as the "African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition", or use the search engine to search by topic.
Archiving Kentucky oral history interviews at the University of Kentucky, the Louie B Nunn Center allows users to listen to digitized interviews online. You can browse by topics (ex. agriculture, appalachia, communities, diversity, education, gender, healthcare, etc.), as well as Projects, People, and by Subject. Also includes Advanced search functions.
This resource provides access to information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience. Includes a project on Emmett Till (primary sources, podcasts, and essays), scholarly podcasts, oral histories, digitized images, books, articles, and documents, exhibitions, newsletters, and links to other resources.
Part of the Schomburg Digital Collection from the New York Public Library this is a collection of 41 full-length books, including autobiography, novels, poetry, slave testemonies, and more -- by 19th African American women, from Phillis Wheatley to Sojourner Truth. You can access more books, as well as oral histories, images, and more from NYPL: Digital Schomburg.
With over 11,000 digitized items, this digital compilation was developed in support of the NYPL website, "The African American Migration Experience," a sweeping 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.
The Race and Slavery Petitions Project offers data on race and slavery from 18th and 19th century documents, including information on about 150,000 individuals, almost 3,000 legislative petitions, 14,512 county court petitions, and more.
From Cornell University Library's Division of rare and Manuscript Collections, the Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection is one of the richest anti-slavery and Civil War collections with over 10,000 titles and Reverend Samuel Joseph May's pamphlets and leaflets for the anti-slavery struggle at local, state, and national levels. See "Search the Collection" to search, and "Other Online Resources" for other web collections.
From the Smithsonian, SIRIS Image Gallery contains over 530,000 digitized images from its collections. Users can browse by format (photographs, postcards, paintings, etc.), by repository, or by cultural groups (ex. African Americans, Woman in History). Select the "Collections Search Center" link at the top or use the search engine in each collection to search for specific topics.
The WWW Virtual Library is an index of the web and operates as a directory of electronic sources. This link serves as a portal to many information resources to bibliographies, archives, and other materials.