Skip to main content

English 300

Everything an English 300 student needs to know.

Searching for an Article - Why Use a Database Instead of Google?

Why Use Databases, Instead of Using Google?

google

It's Ok to Use Google for General Information to Decide on a Topic

Google uses natural language searching, which means, you can ask Google to look up pretty much anything  in any way, and you will get lots of results from your search. 

It is a good place to go to look for general information about a subject you are interested in. 

Use Google to get an overview of your topic, so you will be able to decide what aspect of your topic of interest to focus on when researching (and writing) your paper. 

Once you've got your general picture, THEN it will be time to go to the Databases to do the serious research.   

google vs research database

Use Library Databases For Journal Articles You Can Use to Write Your Paper

You need to look at the Databases that the Library when you are searching for a subject where you need to get journal articles and other scholarly resources. 

Database results don't contain ANY websites. 

Databases mainly contain Journal Articles (and sometimes Newspaper Articles, Books, Book Chapters, and Thesis, depending on the database).  These articles will come from magazines and scholarly journals.   

EVERYTHING you find as a result of your search in a Database has been published

An editor has checked the facts, so you can depend on what is written.

Journal articles will be well written, grammatically correct, and properly cited.    

Google versus Databases

conflict

In this corner, Google or Google Scholar.  In the other corner: Library Databases

 google logo    vs  database icon 1

Google is a search engine.  It's job is to take the terms searched and find any websites which contain the words typed into it. This means you can find all kinds of information on the internet.  However, ANYONE can have put up a website: a 7th grader who is proud of his paper, folks who want to sell you something, or simply people who want you to think like them. Some people even put out misinformation (on purpose) for all kinds of reasons (including the fact that they want to get better grades than you!).  A typical example would be that a company which is failing, but they don't want it to get about and mess with the price of their stock, so they post false information on their websites to buoy their position.

Google uses natural language searching, which means, you can ask:

Find a chicken casserole recipe,

or How do I change the battery in my F150 truck?

or What should I feed my otter?  

Google will give you results, LOTS of results,  and usually the answer you want with these questions in Google.  But searching for a subject where you need to get journal articles and other scholarly results is not easy using Google, or even Google Scholar. 

That is why you need to look at the Databases that the Library has purchased on your behalf.  Database results don't contain ANY websites.  Databases  mainly contain Journal Articles (and sometimes Newspaper Articles, Books, Book Chapters, and Thesis, depending on the database).  These articles will come from magazines and scholarly journals.   EVERYTHING you find as a result of your search in a Database has been published.  This means an editor or editors have looked at the material and made sure the facts were right in the article; made sure the article was well written, grammatically correct and properly cited.   

library databases vs internet

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website

Chat and FAQs

chatFAQs

  

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website