Skip to main content

English 300

Everything an English 300 student needs to know.

Argumentative Paper

Everything you need to know to Write an Argumentative Paper 

 

argumentative writing

argumentative essentials

 

You may find Opposing Viewpoints database  (click the title to search the database) series  particularly helpful for this assignment as it covers controversial social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. Or you can use WKU's One Search to check the catalog for the Opposing Viewpoints books we have in our collection.  Just search the phrase: opposing viewpoints.

persuasive argumentative

What is an Argument Essay?

purpose of argumentative essay

An argument essay is one which explores a controversial topic and takes a particular standpoint. It is important to pick a topic which has two conflicting points of view and one which you are passionate about. Read background information about the topic and find enough information for and against the topic in order to make sound arguments about your position.

How is an argumentative essay different from an expository essay?
An expository essay merely describes the topic and provides information. An argument essay examines the pros and cons of a debatable issue and provides sound evidence to support your claim. So it is necessary that the information you gather is current, detailed, and accurate.

Your initial paragraph should give a brief description of the topic, state why the topic is important, and must present your thesis statement. The body of the essay should discuss the pros and cons with supporting evidence for each. The conclusion must restate your claim and say why you think your standpoint is correct based on the evidence you have gathered.

How to Write a Good Argumentative Essay

What Should I Use to Find the Material for My Argumentative Paper?

You will need to use one of the databases to find the materials you will use in researching your argument.  Which database you choose may depend on your subject (or field of subject).  You can go to the library home page (www.wku.edu/library) and click on Research Guides just below the Search Box.  Search your major, or overall subject of your topic from the list.  Opening the page for the Research Guide will let you know who is the librarian associated with the subject (in case you need extra help), but also, there will be a tab for databases.  Click on the tab an you will be looking at a list of all the databases which are useful for researching your subject area.  Sometimes one or two will be better than others, and that is usually indicated.

Use One Search to search for book or article items in the collection.

You may find Opposing Viewpoints book series or the Online Version of Opposing Viewpoints particularly helpful for this assignment as it covers controversial social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana. Use WKU's One Search to check the catalog for the Opposing Viewpoints books we have in our collection.  Just search the phrase: opposing viewpoints.

Use MLA or APA Formats to Cite for Your Argumentative Work

Make sure to look carefully at your syllabus to see what your teacher wants you to use.  Often they will specify which citing format they want to see on the annotated bibliography.  The two most popular citing resources are the MLA Bibliography and the APA Publication Manual.  Please find a link to the best electronic version of both resources below.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers  

mla

MLA Purdue OWL 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association 

APA

APA Purdue OWL

Click on the links in the Basics of APA Style page to access the video tutorials on how to use APA Style:

APA Style Tutorial 

WKU Writing Center Information

If you should have difficulties and need more help writing your argumentative paper, please contact the folks at the Writing Center to make an appointment for someone to work with you one-on-one. 

WKU Writing Center

               Cherry Hall 123

Monday - Friday: 9 am - 4 pm

                Cravens Library

Sunday & Monday: 5 pm - 9 pm

Tuesday - Thursday: 4 pm - 9 pm

                                             CLOSED ON MAJOR HOLIDAYS                                                                           

Phone: (270) 745-5719

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website

Chat and FAQs

chatFAQs

  

Subject Guide

Jack Montgomery's picture
Jack Montgomery
Contact:
Address: 304 Cravens Library, 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067, Bowling Green, KY 42101

270-745-6156
(270) 745-6156
Website