Call Numbers
The main call number range for books in Communication is P 87-99. There may also be useful information in other areas, so be sure to check our online OneSearch service.
Monographic Reference Works in Cravens Library
21st Century Communication: a Reference Handbook by
Via 100 entries or "mini-chapters," the SAGE 21st Century Reference Series volumes on Communication will highlight the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates any student obtaining a degree in the field of communication ought to have mastered for effectiveness in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate majors with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not as much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies by
The Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies has provided students and the general public alike with a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations and marketing communications since 1984. In this 9th edition, James Watson and Anne Hill provide a detailed compendium of the different facets of personal, group, mass-media and internet communication that continues to be a vital source of information for all those interested in how communication affects our lives. They cover new applications and developments, such as the incorporation of Neuroscience techniques in advertising and marketing. Other updates include Cyber-bullying, Twitter scandals, conduct in media organizations, on-line lobbying, global protesting/petitioning, and gender issues relating to social media in general. While new entries explore the profound shifts that have taken place in the world of communication in recent years, the purpose of this new edition is not necessarily to keep abreast of every new media event but to reflect the trends that influence and prompt such events, such as the Leveson Inquiry and Report and phone hacking via mobile phones. Politics seems to be playing out more on Twitter than in The Times. This volume seeks to make its twenty-first century readers more media literate, as well as more critical consumers of modern news.
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication employs a broadly-based taxonomy of intercultural communication (ICC) that consists of six organizing themes. Those themes are the traditional ICC core theme--known as "intercultural communication"--and five associated themes recognized as "cross-cultural communication," "cultural communication," "intergroup communication," "intercultural training," and "critical intercultural communication." This encyclopedia addresses issues of ethnicity and race in intercultural communication--not as a separate theme, but as an integral part of each thematic area. It also provides entries outside the ICC's discipline of communication, such as cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology. This work features 256 articles written by 249 authors representing 19 different countries. The articles address issues, theories, and concepts that have substantively contributed to the development of ICC theory and research (ie: Hall's high- and low-context communication systems; Hofstede's four dimensions); methodological issues of importance to ICC research (ie: emic and etic; sampling equivalence); and summaries of findings from original studies directly pertaining to the ICC domain (ie: cross-cultural psychological studies of cultural differences in variables pertaining to message processing and verbal/nonverbal communication behavior). Overview of the ICC domain as a whole Key research topics in the field with a strong global editorial team Overview essays on the six thematic areas of study Cross-over information from cross-cultural psychology, cultural anthropology, and social psychology Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library. The International Encyclopedia of Intercultural Communication is an ideal book for international communication undergraduate and graduate students as well as for academic researchers and professional practitioners of intercultural communication.
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication, 4 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Organizational Communication offers a comprehensive collection of entries contributed by international experts on the origin, evolution, and current state of knowledge of all facets of contemporary organizational communication. Represents the definitive international reference resource on a topic of increasing relevance, in a new series of sub-disciplinary international encyclopedias Examines organization communication across a range of contexts, including NGOs, global corporations, community cooperatives, profit and non-profit organizations, formal and informal collectives, virtual work, and more Features topics ranging from leader-follower communication, negotiation and bargaining and organizational culture to the appropriation of communication technologies, emergence of inter-organizational networks, and hidden forms of work and organization Offers an unprecedented level of authority and diverse perspectives, with contributions from leading international experts in their associated fields Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library Awarded 2017 Best Edited Book award by the Organizational Communication Division, National Communication Association
The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication, 3 Volume Set by
The International Encyclopedia of Political Communication is the definitive single-source reference work on the subject, with state-of-the-art and in-depth scholarly reflection on the key issues within political communication from leading international experts. It is available both online and in print. Explores pertinent/salient topics within political science, sociology, psychology, communication and many other disciplines Theory, empirical research and academic as well as professional debate are widely covered in this truly international and comparative work Provides clear definitions and explanations which are both cross-national and cross-disciplinary by nature Offers an unprecedented level of authority, accuracy and balance, with contributions from leading international experts in their associated fields Part of The Wiley Blackwell-ICA International Encyclopedias of Communication series, published in conjunction with the International Communication Association. Online version available at Wiley Online Library Named Outstanding Academic Title of 2016 by Choice Magazine, a publication of the American Library Association
Communication Research Measures by
The development of communication as a discipline has resulted in an explosion of scales tapping various aspects of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication. This sourcebook brings together scales that measure a variety of important communication constructs. The scales presented are drawn from areas of interpersonal, mass, organizational, and instructional communication--areas in which the use of formal, quantitative scales is particularly well developed. Communication Research Measures reflects the recent important emphasis on developing and improving the measurement base of the communication discipline. It results in an equal amount of labor saved on the part of the scholars, students, and practitioners who find this book useful, and it contributes in a significant way to research efforts. Originally published by Guilford Press in 1994, now available from Routledge.
A Dictionary of Media and Communication by
This authoritative and up-to-date A-Z covers all aspects of interpersonal, mass, and networked communication, including digital and mobile media, advertising, journalism, and nonverbal communication. This new edition is particularly focused on expanding coverage of social media terms, to reflect its increasing prominence to media and communication studies as a whole. More than 2,000 entries have been revised, and over 500 new terms have been added to reflect current theoretical terminology, including concepts such as artificial intelligence, cisgender, fake news, hive mind, use theory, and wikiality. The dictionary also bridges the gap between theory and practice, and contains many technical terms that are relevant to the communication industry, including dialogue editing, news aggregator, and primary colour correction. The text is complemented by biographical notes and extensively cross-referenced, while web links supplement the entries. It is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students of media and communication studies, and also for those taking related subjects such as television studies, video production, communication design, visual communication, marketing communications, semiotics, and cultural studies.
The Art of Communication in a Polarized World by
People's minds are hard to change. In North America and elsewhere, communities are fractured along ideological lines as social media and algorithms encourage individuals to seek out others who think like they do and to condemn those that don't. This social and political polarization has resulted in systemic discrimination and weaponized communication trends such as gaslighting and fake news. In this compelling new book, Kyle Conway confronts the communication challenges of our modern world by navigating the space between opposing perspectives. Conway explores how individuals can come to understand another person's interpretation of the world and provides the tools for shaping effective arguments capable of altering their perspective. Drawing on the theory of cultural translation and its dimensions of power, meaning, and invention, Conway deepens our understanding of what it means to communicate and opens the door to new approaches to politics and ethics. An essential guide for surviving in our polarized society, this book offers concrete strategies for refining how values and ideas are communicated.
Leader-Member Exchange and Organizational Communication by
It is hard to overstate the importance of the leader-member exchange relationship. Employees who share a high-quality relationship with their leader are more likely to earn a higher salary, climb the ranks more quickly, and report higher life satisfaction levels than their peers who have a less copasetic leader-member relationship. While Leader-Member Exchange Theory (LMX) research addresses the impact that the leader-member relationship has on the individual employee experience, much of this scholarship overlooks or obscures the vital role that communication plays in the development and maintenance of workgroup relationships. Much of extant literature also glosses over the role that communication plays in workgroup collaboration. Using a communicative lens, this text illustrates the complex theoretical underpinnings of LMX theory, such as the importance of social interaction and relationship building and maintenance necessary to achieve organizational goals. We explore how an employee's relationship with their leader also shapes their peer relationships and their overall standing within their workgroup. Further, the text examines the potential dark side of LMX theory, such as the tendency towards demographic and trait and state similarity. Employing a communicative perspective emphasizes the extent of position and personal power both leaders and members have in engineering the quality of the relationship they desire. Integrating and applying once disparate lines of academic literature, this book offers employees, students, and teacher-scholars pragmatic yet research-based insights into developing and maintaining successful, healthy workplace relationships.
Interpersonal Interactions and Language Learning by
This book takes as its starting point the assumption that interpersonal communication is a crucial aspect of successful language learning. Following an examination of different communicative models, the authors focus on traditional face-to-face (F2F) interactions, before going on to compare these with the forms of computer-mediated communication (CMC) enabled by recent developments in educational technology. They also address the question of individual differences, particularly learners' preferred participation styles, and explore how F2F and CMC formats might impact learners differently. This book will be of interest to students and scholars of computer-mediated communication (CMC), computer-assisted language learning (CALL), technology-enhanced language learning (TELL), language acquisition and language education more broadly.
Reputation Management by
Reputation Management is an established how-to guide for students and professionals, as well as CEOs and other business leaders. This fourth edition is updated throughout, including: new social media management techniques for the evolving age of digital media, and perspectives on reputation management in an era of globalization. The book is embroidered by ethics, and organized by corporate communication units, such as media relations, issues management, crisis communication, organizational communication, government relations, and investor relations. Each chapter is fleshed out with the real-world experiences cited by the authors and contributions from 36 leaders in the field, including The Arthur W. Page Society, the International Communications Consultancy Organization, the PR Council, CVS Health, Edelman and Ketchum. This was the first book on reputation management and, now in its fourth edition, remains a must-have reference for students taking classes in public relations management, corporate communication, communication management, and business. CEOs, business leaders, and professionals working in these areas find it a reliable resource for measuring, monitoring and managing reputation. 　
