Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Resources with a Technology / Computer Science Focus:
Contains journals from the Association for Computing Machinery and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Citation from 1980 - current.
Business-Related Resources:
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology, Third Edition by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Systems Management | HF5548.125- HF5548.6, QA75- QA76.95 |
| Information Technology | T58.5-T58.64 |
| Informational Technology--Economic aspects | HC79.I55 |
| Information Technology--Management | HD30.2 |
| Management Information Systems--Industrial Management | HD30.213 |
| Business--Data Processing | HF5548.2 |
| Computer Science--Electronic Data Processing | QA76 |
| Management Information Systems--Industrial Engineering | T58.5 |
| Information Resources Management | T58.64 |
