The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the codification of the rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It contains regulations which pertain to specific industries, not laws passed by Congress. For those, see U.S. Code Annotated, below.
Great websites for many forms of legal information.
This new site takes the place of THOMAS, and has expanded the scope of its offerings to include these features: Bills, Resolutions; Activity in Congress; Congressional Record Schedules & Calendars; Committee Information; Presidential Nominations; Treaties; and Resources For Teachers.
This excellent resource, maintained by the Law Librarians' Society of Washington D.C., Inc., is a comprehensive listing of subscription (you pay money) and non-subscription (free!) legal resources online.
JURIST is a Web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over 30 part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.
This database was updated January 2011 by law librarians Sabrina I. Pacifici and Margaret Berkland. This site includes links to over 1,400 sources for state and federal court rules, forms, and dockets. You can browse to find the resource you need, or search by keyword.
The Oyez Project at Chicago-Kent is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Justia contains overviews of the law in many different areas, as well as links to Federal and state cases, codes, and administrative materials. The site also contains a directory of lawyers, news items, blogs, and an online legal magazine.
One-stop Kentucky court site. Here you can: obtain a criminal record report; find contact information for Supreme Court Justices, Court of Appeals Judges, Circuit Court Judges, District Court Judges, Circuit Court Clerks, Circuit & District Court Administrators, Mediators, Master Commissioners,and Administrative Office of the Courts; find case/docket information; find information about jury duty; find legal forms used in court; and search local rules of practice.