Skip to main content

Newspapers & News Databases: Home

Finding Newspaper Articles Online

Newspapers Databases

Electronic Access to Newspapers:

There are several ways to search for newspaper articles in electronic format. Here are just a couple of the methods, along with links to specific databases and resources.

1. One-Search Library Catalog
For an easy start to any search, use the One-Search Library Catalog. This is the search box in the middle of the Library home page. Just enter your topic in the box and click Search. The results will include materials in many formats (books, journal articles, video, and so on). You can limit your results to just newspaper articles by selecting “Newspaper Articles” under Resource Type in the right sidebar (on a mobile device look for the Tweak My Results link at the bottom of the screen). Click on articles that you want and follow the links under View Online to download articles in full text.  If you run into trouble just Ask Us

2. Use the links below to search some of our largest and most popular newspaper databases. 

3. Other Databases that include access to newspapers

The databases listed above focus specifically on access to news and newspapers. Many of our general research databases include access to at least some newspapers as well. Check the library Research Guides for your subject area to find links to databases related to your topic. All of our research databases can be accessed through the Library’s A-Z Database list (you will find a link to this list beneath the One-Search box on the WKU Libraries home page). This list includes almost 300 databases, so you need to know which specific databases you want to use. If you need further assistance finding, choosing, accessing, or using these databases just Ask Us

Finding a Specific Newspaper in Electronic Format

Find a Specific Newspaper in Electronic Format

Click on the A-Z e-journals link in the left sidebar of the WKU Libraries home page. Enter the name of the journal, then Search. If the journal you are looking for comes up, click on the title and follow the links to full-text online access. If the newspaper you’re looking for does not come up in the results, it probably means that the Library does have access to it. If you need help or have further questions, just Ask Us!

Finding Newspapers in Paper Format

Finding Newspapers in Paper Format

Most newspapers are available in electronic format only (see above), but WKU Libraries continues to receive a few newspapers in paper format as well.

You can find out if WKU libraries has print or microform copies of a newspaper (either current or historical), by search the One-Search Library Catalog on the WKU Libraries home page. Enter the name of the newspaper in the search box in the center of the library home page, and click the Search button. If you find the name of the newspaper in your results click on it to get more information. Look for the Location tab to find out the date ranges available and the location of the print copies. If you need assistance, call the periodicals desk at (270) 745-6116.

We're Here for You...