Click and Reboot: the internet revolution by Jason Gainous; Kevin M. WagnerGoing beyond theory and guess based forecasts; this book systematically explores and measures the implications of the growing use of the internet in the American political landscape. Using current election data, the authors specifically challenge the predominant conjecture that the impact of new technology will not affect the electoral outcomes and illustrate that the use of the internet is causing a marked shift in not just who votes, but who wins.
Publication Date: 2011-05-16
Right to Vote: the contested history of democracy in the United States by Alexander KeyssarMost Americans take for granted their right to vote, whether they choose to exercise it or not. But the history of suffrage in the U.S. is, in fact,the story of a struggle to achieve this right by our society's marginalized groups. In The Right to Vote, Duke historian Alexander Keyssar explores the evolution of suffrage over the course of the nation's history. Examining the many features of the history of the right to vote in the U.S.--class, ethnicity, race, gender, religion, and age--the book explores the conditions under which American democracy has expanded and contracted over the years.Keyssar presents convincing evidence that the history of the right to vote has not been one of a steady history of expansion and increasing inclusion, noting that voting rights contracted substantially in the U.S. between 1850 and 1920. Keyssar also presents a controversial thesis: that the primary factor promoting the expansion of the suffrage has been war and the primary factors promoting contraction or delaying expansion have been class tension and class conflict.
Publication Date: 2000-08-22
Gender and Elections: Shaping the Future of American Politics by Susan J. Carroll (Editor); Richard L. Fox (Editor)Gender and Elections offers a systematic, lively, multi-faceted account of the role of gender in the electoral process through the 2004 elections. This timely, yet enduring, volume strikes a balance between highlighting the most important developments for women as voters and candidates in the 2004 elections and providing a more long-term, in-depth analysis of the ways that gender has helped shape the contours and outcomes of electoral politics in the United States. Individual chapters demonstrate the importance of gender in understanding and interpreting presidential elections, voter participation and turnout, voting choices, congressional elections, the participation of African American women, the support of political parties and women's organizations, candidate communications with voters, and state elections. Without question, this book is the most comprehensive, reliable, and trustworthy resource on the role of gender in electoral politics.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Patterns of Democracy: government forms and performance in thirty-six countries by Arend LijphartIn this updated and expanded edition of his classic text, Arend Lijphart offers a broader and deeper analysis of worldwide democratic institutions than ever before. Examining thirty-six democracies during the period from 1945 to 2010, Lijphart arrives at important--and unexpected--conclusions about what type of democracy works best. Praise for the previous edition: "Magnificent. . . . The best-researched book on democracy in the world today."--Malcolm Mackerras, American Review of Politics "I can't think of another scholar as well qualified as Lijphart to write a book of this kind. He has an amazing grasp of the relevant literature, and he's compiled an unmatched collection of data."--Robert A. Dahl, Yale University "This sound comparative research . . . will continue to be a standard in graduate and undergraduate courses in comparative politics."--Choice
Voting in America by Morgan E. Felchner (Editor)The three volumes of Voting in America offer the most comprehensive, authoritative, and useful account of all aspects of voting in America ever assembled. This set surveys the legal foundations, historical development, and geographic diversity of voting practices at all levels of government in the United States. It marshals the demographics of voter participation and party affiliation in the 21st century by age, occupation, location, region, class, race, and religion, and parses the roles of interest groups, hot-button issues, and the media in mobilizing voters and shaping their decisions. Finally, the set anatomizes the critical voting debacles in the 2000 and 2004 elections and assesses the proposed remedies, including online voting and electronic voting machines. The host of chapters penned for this magisterial set by an unprecedented assemblage of academics, practitioners, and pundits includes such lively topics as: the Electoral College, prisoner disenfranchisement, obstacles and options for American voters abroad, the rise of ballot initiatives, the elusive youth vote, the battle for the swing vote, local issues trends, Wisconsin voter fraud, waiting in line in Ohio, the provisional ballots mess, and partisanship in voting companies.
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
The Presidential Election Process by Tom Lansford (Editor)Editor Tom Lansford has compiled a compelling sequence of for-or-against essays that will give readers a balanced foundation on the presidential election process. Across four chapters, readers will explore whether the nomination process produces the best candidates, whether campaign spending should be limited, whether the media unfairly influence campaigns, and whether or not the electoral college should be abolished or reformed.
Publication Date: 2007-11-21
Presidential Campaigns by Paul F. Boller; Paul F. BollerWere presidential campaigns always as bitter as they have been in recent years? Or is the current style of campaigning a new political development? In this revised and updated edition of Presidential Campaigns the answers to these questions are clear: the race for the presidency, although at times mean and nasty, has always been an endlessly entertaining and highly-charged spectacle for the American public. This book unveils the whole history of American presidential elections, from the seamless ascent of General George Washington to the bitterly contested election of George W. Bush, bringing these boisterous contests to life in all their richness and complexity.In the old days, Boller shows, campaigns were much rowdier than they are today. Back in the nineteenth century, the invective at election time was exuberant and the mudslinging unrestrained; a candidate might be called everything from a carbuncle-faced old drunkard to a howling atheist. But there was plenty of fun and games, too, with songs and slogans, speeches and parades, all livening up the scene in order to get people to the polls.Presidential Campaigns takes note of the serious side of elections even as it documents the frenzy, frolic and the sleaze. Each chapter contains a brief essay describing an election and presenting "campaign highlights" that bring to life the quadrennial confrontation in all its shame and glory.With a postscript analyzing the major changes in the ways Americans have chosen their Presidents from Washington's time to the present, Presidential Campaigns gives the reader a full picture of this somewhat flawed procedure. For all of its shortcomings, though, this "great American shindig" is an essential part of the American democratic system and, for better or for worse, tells us much about ourselves.
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The African American Electorate by Hanes Walton; Sherman C. Puckett; Donald R. DeskinsHow have African Americans voted over time? What types of candidates and issues have been effective in drawing people to vote? These are just two of the questions that The African American Electorate: A Statistical History attempts to answer by bringing together all of the extant, fugitive and recently discovered registration data on African-American voters from Colonial America to the present. This pioneering work also traces the history of the laws dealing with enfranchisement and disenfranchisement of African Americans and provides the election return data for African-American candidates in national and sub-national elections over this same time span. Combining insightful narrative, tabular data, and original maps, The African American Electorate offers students and researchers the opportunity, for the first time, to explore the relationship between voters and political candidates, identify critical variables, and situate African Americans' voting behavior and political phenomena in the context of America's political history.
Publication Date: 2012-07-20
Election Spending by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Nancy Dziedzic (Editor)This volume explores the topics relating to election spending by presenting varied expert opinions that examine many of the different aspects that comprise these topics. Divergent views on the same topic allow readers to activate their higher-level critical thinking and reading skills. Will fully anonymous campaign donations eliminate political corruption? Would public funding of elections ensure judicial neutrality? Does the Federal Election Commission hinder campaign finance reform? Is banning corporate campaign contributions unconstitutional? Essays provide the answers and readers can decide for themselves where they stand on the issues.
Publication Date: 2011-09-23
Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America by Immanuel Ness; James CimentThis reference features a section on the history of third parties in America since the Early Republic, and bibliographies of major players and candidates. Coverage ranges from national, regional, and state parties to the major political parties that predate the Democrats and the Republicans.
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
Historical Atlas of U. S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004 by J. Clark Archer; Stephen J. Lavin; Kenneth C. Martis; Fred M. ShelleySelectednbsp;as anbsp;&BAD:quot;Best Reference&BAD:quot;nbsp;for 2006nbsp;by Library Journal Researchers studying historical U.S. elections and the electoral voting system spend countless hours compiling and comparing data and statistics to discover voting trends and patterns. Now, this new atlas allows researchers to easily make visual comparisons of regional voting patterns throughout the history of the United States. Presented in the form of a four-color atlas, Historical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004 provides maps and context on every U.S. presidential election since 1789.Two pages of maps for each election from 1788 to present include: One national map showing the winning candidate for each countyOne national map per major candidate, including important third-party candidatesSnapshot data and statistical charts on popular and electoral voting, candidate names and parties, and voter turnoutHistorical Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections 1788-2004 also features essays on each individual election, providing essential background and context for understanding key data. This new resource will be an asset in libraries serving students and citizens interested in presidential elections.