The Coordination of Public Sector Organizations by
This book discusses the trajectories of creating specialized autonomous units. An analysis of the mechanisms and measures taken for granting autonomy to specialized autonomous units and subsequently to coordinating them back is described. The book shows a range of patterns in the dynamics of specialization and coordination over 25 years.
Ethics Management for Public Administrators by
As with the first edition, this practical book is dedicated to building organizations of integrity. It has been written for students contemplating careers in public service, elected and appointed officials, administrators, and career public servants in America and abroad.
The Dynamics of Managing Diversity by
This text takes the view that the study of equality needs to consider not only issues of discrimination, but also the needs of people in relation to their diverse cultures and identities. It therefore takes a different approach to the issues of quality and diversity in the world of employment. The Dynamics of Managing Diversity discusses diversity as recognition of the differences and similarities between and among social groups, and how resulting policies must reflect these.This new edition has been extensively revised and up-dated to incorporate new conceptual, theoretical and empirical work now available in this growing subject area.
Strategic Change Management in Public Sector Organisations by
This book covers all the major aspects of change management for those working in public sector and not-for-profit organisations. It summarises key theories and approaches to change management and includes detailed, worked descriptions of key techniques used in change management processes and programmes, with extensive reference to case studies drawn from a range of public sector, not-for-profit organisations and other environments. Written by a highly knowledgeable and well-respected practitioner in the field Draws on the author's wide-ranging practical experience of major organizational development and change management in a wide range of situation Applies as well as describes theory Provides practical and realistic solutions to real-world problems
Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-For-Profit Organizations by
A completely revised and expanded edition of the nonprofit industry finance and accounting standard Filled with authoritative advice on the financial reporting, accounting, and control situations unique to not-for-profit organizations, Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations, Eighth Edition is recognized by professionals as the industry standard reference on not-for-profit finance and accounting. Prepared by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Not-for-Profit Industry Services Group, the book includes accounting, tax, and reporting guidelines for different types of organizations, step-by-step procedures and forms, and more. A new chapter on public debt has also been added. Presents the latest updates to regulatory reporting and disclosure changes in recent years Reflects the totally revamped and revised AICPA accounting and audit guide for not-for-profit organizations Addresses concerns of all nonprofit organizations, including health and welfare organizations, colleges and universities, churches and other religious organizations, libraries, museums, and other smaller groups Includes step-by-step procedures and forms, detailed explanations of financial statements, and a how-to section on setting up and keeping the books Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-for-Profit Organizations, Eighth Edition is the completely revised and expanded new edition of the bestselling not-for-profit accounting guide.
Social Experimentation, Program Evaluation, and Public Policy by
This volume provides a single collection some of the best articles on social experimentation and program evaluation that have appeared in the Journal of Policy Analysis and Management (JPAM). Provides exposure to a variety of well-executed social experiments and evaluations for evidence-based public policy Examines the theory and conduct of evaluations and social experiments as they relate to their practical implementation in evidence-based policy making Provides exposure to the fundamental issues surrounding the conduct of evaluations as well as to the relative merits of social experiments and the ethics and use of evaluations
