Skip to main content

Social Work

What is an annotated bibliography?

What is an annotated bibliography?

“An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph, the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.” Reused with permission.

How do I find 10 articles for my list?

  • For this assignment, please search for articles on your topic in the current professional literature. Library databases are a good place to search. Try some of the Databases listed in the Social Work Library Research Guide.
  • Find at least 10 good articles on your topic. For this assignment, they should be no older than 2010. Pick a few extras in case some don’t work out. One needs to come from the research literature, and one needs to come from the Social Work literature. If you have trouble finding a Research or a Social Work Article, I have put together one-page tip sheets on identifying these. Save your articles where you can find them (hard drive, Google Doc, etc.)

How do I put my 10 article citations in APA format?

  • Most library databases have a “cite” button to put stuff in APA format. Always double-check because the “cite” button doesn’t always get it exactly right. Open a new Word document in a separate window, and copy and paste your citations into a Word document using CRTL-C CRTL-V.

How do I make sure my 10 citations are in APA format?

  • APA Style: Journal Article References is APA’s free online site with good examples.
  • The Purdue Owl site has a concise list of the rules, examples, and a citation formatter.
  • Here is still another: Quick Guide from California State University.
  • Look at the examples in your book, Publication Manual of the APA/7th, p. 308, “Sample Annotated Bibliography.” If you don’t have the book yet, I can scan this page and email it to you. Unfortunately, it is not available online at WKU Libraries.

How do I add annotations to my 10 citations?

  • Each annotation should be 2-3 paragraphs. The usual guideline is 150 words, but yours might differ from this word count.
  • An annotation is NOT an abstract (the short summary of the article that appears under the title in library databases). Don’t just copy and paste the abstract. Unlike an abstract, an annotation should include your reactions/evaluation.
  • The annotation should give a brief overview of the article, followed by your reaction/response from a social work and a personal perspective. How does this article relate to others from the social work literature?
  • Some things you could include in your annotation: main focus of the article, relevance to your topic, special features, background of the author, conclusions of the author vs. your conclusions.

What should the annotated bibliography look like when I’m done?

  • Sample from California State U.
  • Sample from University of Toronto

Remember to follow the Grading Rubric for this assignment

How do you evaluate a resource for inclusion?

Writing annotated bibliographies