Menu
- WKU Homepage
- Libraries Homepage
- Overview of Government Documents and LawAn overview of the entire Government Documents and Legal collection at WKU Libraries.
- About the Law CollectionStart here for an overview of what our WKU Law Library collection contains. Includes links to staff emails, service hours, and location.
- Research Assistance Desk in the Cravens CommonsThis page has information about the reference desk in the Commons on the 4th floor of Cravens.
- Databases Subscribed to by WKU LibrariesAn alphabetical list of all our research databases.
- Listing of WKU Libraries Research Guides
- TDNet Electronic Journal Finder WKU Libraries' listing (and links to) our E-Journal subscriptions.
- TopSCHOLAR® Digital Repository An open-source full-text collection of scholarly research, creative activity, and learning resources created by WKU faculty, staff, and students.
Comments (0)
Databases for Advanced Legal Research
The following databases are recommended for use by paralegal students, upper-level undergraduates, and graduate students.
- ALR: American Law Reports (West) Contains articles (called annotations) on specific legal topics. They provide background, analysis, and citations to relevant cases, statutes, law review articles, and other annotations. They read more like a law review article than a legal encyclopedia.
- Accounting &Tax (ProQuest) Use this database to keep up with the latest in those pesky accounting and taxation laws. Journal articles are written by experts in these fields.
- Accounting Database (LexisNexis) Contains accounting-specific publications, reference material, and Controller Reports.
- Accounting Research Manager
- American Jurisprudence Law Encyclopedia (West) Known as Am. Jur., American Jurisprudence Legal Encyclopedia provides background information on legal topics, explains relevant terms of art, and provides citations to cases, statutes, regulations, law review articles, and ALR Annotations. The encyclopedia is national in scope and uses broad topics.
- Bepress Legal RepositoryBepress, the platform that WKU Libraries uses for TopSCHOLAR®, offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world.
- Checkpoint Checkpoint contains tax accounting news and research materials for the accounting industry.
Requires Username & Password--Ask at Reference Desk. - Congressional Publications (ProQuest) ProQuest Congressional contains full text and status of proposed laws, congressional hearings, publications, reports, prints, documents, and legislative history, plus voting records, biographies, and financial information on members of Congress. The database also includes U.S. statutes, the U.S. Code Service, the Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsProvides free open access to 140 law journals (along with a variety of other subjects).
- HeinOnline HeinOnline contains cover-to-cover full-page images for all issues of over 1,200 legal journals, cases from the U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and English Reports Full Reprint (1694-1867). HeinOnline has all issues of the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and U.S. Statutes at Large, plus all issues of the Congressional Record (1873 to present), the Annals of Congress (1789-1924), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). Also includes many sources for international law, United Nations, and treaty research.
- LexisNexis Academic Provides access to over 10,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. You can look up a legal cases by citation (163 U.S. 537), parties (Mapp v. Ohio), or topic (equal opportunity).
- Oxford Reference Online Premium: LawSearch the full-text of all these titles:
The Oxford Companion to American Law
The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia
Guide to Latin in International Law
A Dictionary of Law
A Dictionary of Law Enforcement
The New Oxford Companion to Law
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions - Social Science Research NetworkSSRN contains many abstracts and full-text papers on legal topics.
- TOXNET Toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Open-access collection from U.S. National Library of Medicine. While some articles are available full text (or via other WKU library subscriptions), some articles must be acquired via interlibrary loan.
Databases for Basic Legal Research
WKU Libraries provides the following databases which are helpful for legal research.
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest) With many articles available full text since 1991, and indexing back to 1971, ABI/Inform is a good place to look for articles dealing with contracts and business law.
- American Founding Era CollectionContains primary documents relating to the founding of our country and the U.S. Constitution.
- American Jurisprudence Law Encyclopedia (West) Known as Am. Jur., American Jurisprudence Legal Encyclopedia provides background information on legal topics, explains relevant terms of art, and provides citations to cases, statutes, regulations, law review articles, and ALR Annotations. The encyclopedia is national in scope and uses broad topics.
- The American MosaicYou can search this collection of databases for information concerning, among other issues, legal actions pertaining to African Americans or Latino Americans, including summaries of significant court cases.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) Business Source Premier contains articles dealing with contracts, intellectual property, and business law.
- Child Welfare Information Gateway: Laws and PoliciesPublications and resources related to State and Federal civil laws on child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption. Federal laws provide standards and guidelines; however, these issues are primarily governed by State laws and regulations in the United States.
- Criminal Justice AbstractsContains abstracts of journal articles dealing with criminal law.
- Current Law Journal Content 2000 - 2011 NOTE: updating of CLJC ceased on May 13, 2011.
Existing indexing (approximately 2000 - April 2011) will remain searchable here. - Cyber Bullying Searchable Information Center This collection of open-access E-books contains materials dealing with issues of online cyber bullying, stalking, and privacy.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsThis source provides access to 140 law journals (along with a variety of other subjects) that offer open access. That means free to you and me.
- LexisNexis Academic Provides access to over 10,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications. You can look up a legal cases by citation (163 U.S. 537), parties (Mapp v. Ohio), or topic (equal opportunity).
- Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
- Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO) Contains full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos, and reference books dealing with planning, financing and managing a business (including legal issues).
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Department of Library Public Services 13 Helm Library 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067 Western Kentucky University Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101 Phone: (270) 745-6441 FAX: (270) 745-6175 Send Email |
Dr. Bryan M. Carson |
Contact Info 906 Cravens Library Western Kentucky University 1906 College Heights Blvd. #11067 Bowling Green, Kentucky 42101-1067 Phone: (270) 745-5007 FAX: (270) 745-2275 Email: bryan.carson@wku.edu Send Email |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |




Loading...
