Last Updated: May 14, 2015
This guide directs you to key resources for scholarly research in Social Work. Use it to find articles, books,and websites. Questions or problems? Please contact the Reference Desk at 1(270)745-6125 or the Health Sciences Librarian at email@example.com
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
Co-published by the National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press, the Encyclopedia of Social Work is widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Search for journal articles by keyword/topic. Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ covers research, policy, and practice literature in Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW is an anthology of 4 database files providing access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly articles in Google by keyword or topic. Now features linking to full-text of articles held by WKU.
One-Search is a Google-like search box for a quick start on your WKU Libraries research -- find books, articles and more in a single search.
- Social Services Abstracts
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- Social Workers' Desk Reference/3rd edition/2015
With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the Social Workers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research..
The link below gives summary information on citing references in your paper. For detailed information on style manuals and citation styles, please visit http://owl.english.purdue.edu/