The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Social Policy by Daniel Beland (Editor); Christopher Howard (Editor); Kimberly J. Morgan (Editor)
The American welfare state has long been a source of political contention and academic debate. This Oxford Handbook pulls together much of our current knowledge about the origins, development, functions, and challenges of American social policy. It begins by offering an historical overview ofU.S. social policy from the colonial era to the present. This is followed by a set of chapters on different theoretical perspectives available for understanding and explaining the development of U.S. social policy. The three following parts of the volume focus on concrete social programs for theelderly, the poor and near-poor, the disabled, and workers and families. Policy areas covered include health care, pensions, food assistance, housing, unemployment benefits, disability benefits, workers' compensation, family support, and programs for soldiers and veterans. The final part of the bookfocuses on some of the consequences of the U.S. welfare state for poverty, inequality, and citizenship. Many of the chapters comprising this handbook emphasize the disjointed patterns of policy making inherent to U.S. policymaking and the public-private mix of social provision in which thegovernment helps certain groups of citizens directly (such as social insurance) or indirectly (such as tax expenditures and regulations).With contributions from experts from political science, sociology, history, economics, and other social sciences, The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Social Policy is an invaluable resource for both scholars of social policy in the United States and members of the policymaking world.
ISBN: 0190699051
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice by 
Handbook of Military Social Work by 
Multicultural Social Work Practice by 
Social Policy for Effective Practice/5th edition by 
Solution-Based Casework by 
Tell Them Who I Am by 
Burnout and Self-Care in Social Work by 
Case Studies in Social Work Practice by 
Critical Multiculturalism and Intersectionality in a Complex World by 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR(tm)) by 
DSM-5 in Action by 
Essentials of Social Work Management and Leadership by 
Expressive Arts for Social Work and Social Change by 
Flourish by 
Hill Women by 
Human Behavior in the Social Environment by 
Human Trafficking by 
Modern Social Work Theory by 
Race, Class, and Gender in the United States by 
Rural Social Work by 
Social Work Practice with Families by 
To Plead Our Own Cause: personal stories by today's slaves by 
Encyclopedia of Macro Social Work by 
The Oxford Handbook of U. S. Social Policy by
The American welfare state has long been a source of political contention and academic debate. This Oxford Handbook pulls together much of our current knowledge about the origins, development, functions, and challenges of American social policy. It begins by offering an historical overview ofU.S. social policy from the colonial era to the present. This is followed by a set of chapters on different theoretical perspectives available for understanding and explaining the development of U.S. social policy. The three following parts of the volume focus on concrete social programs for theelderly, the poor and near-poor, the disabled, and workers and families. Policy areas covered include health care, pensions, food assistance, housing, unemployment benefits, disability benefits, workers' compensation, family support, and programs for soldiers and veterans. The final part of the bookfocuses on some of the consequences of the U.S. welfare state for poverty, inequality, and citizenship. Many of the chapters comprising this handbook emphasize the disjointed patterns of policy making inherent to U.S. policymaking and the public-private mix of social provision in which thegovernment helps certain groups of citizens directly (such as social insurance) or indirectly (such as tax expenditures and regulations).With contributions from experts from political science, sociology, history, economics, and other social sciences, The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Social Policy is an invaluable resource for both scholars of social policy in the United States and members of the policymaking world.