Skip to Main Content

Physics and Astronomy: Articles and more...

Find Articles

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals. 

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals. 

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals. 

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.


Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals. 

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a useful way to find research articles, book chapters and more, which can supplement what can be found in the library's databases. 

However, Google Scholar does not have as sophisticated search filters and metadata about its search results, unlike library databases that do have search filters and metadata. These capabilities allow for better filtering and curation of search results.

Your librarian recommends these reasons for using Google Scholar:

  1. When you are not having much success using the library's databases to find your research.
  2.  When an article you want to use does not have a Full-Text file available to read in the WKU Libraries databases. Sometimes you can find a Full Text file available online elsewhere.

Remember to filter by "Review Articles"!

Also, connect your Google Scholar with the WKU Libraries databases! Learn how to connect here

Find Background Information

Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below. 

Find Books and eBooks

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or eBooks using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title. 


If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):

Topic Call Number Range Cravens Floor
Acoustics QC 221 - QC 246 8
Agricultural Physics S 588 - S 589.6 8
Astronomy QB 8
Astrophysics QB 460 - QB 466 8
Biomagnetism and Biophysics QH 504 8
Electric Circuits and Networks TK 452 - TK 454.4 8
Geomagnetism QC 811 - QC 849 8
Geophysics QE 801 - QE 809 8
Mathematics

QA

8
Nuclear / Particle Physics QC 770 - QC 798 8
Optics QC 350 - QC 467 8
Physics QC 8
Technology T 8

 

Contact your librarian

Profile Photo
Ashley Orehek Rossi
Contact:
Ashley.Orehek [at] wku.edu
Commons at Helm Library 2016
270-745-6158
Website