Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Citation from 1980 - current.
Contains journals from the Association for Computing Machinery and bibliographic citations from major publishers in computing.
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
WKU users must first create an account by clicking here: Click here to register. Once you have established a username and password, you can log in to SciFinder-n (CAS).
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Contains full text journal articles in the fields of engineering, applied mathematics, computer science, and environmental engineering from 1983 to present.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and European universities from 1861 to the present.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar is a useful way to find research articles, book chapters and more, which can supplement what can be found in the library's databases.
However, Google Scholar does not have as sophisticated search filters and metadata about its search results, unlike library databases that do have search filters and metadata. These capabilities allow for better filtering and curation of search results.
Your librarian recommends these reasons for using Google Scholar:
Remember to filter by "Review Articles"!
Also, connect your Google Scholar with the WKU Libraries databases! Learn how to connect here
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
A comprehensive reference resource for science research.
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
WKU users must first create an account by clicking here: Click here to register. Once you have established a username and password, you can log in to SciFinder-n (CAS).
Access provided by KYVL. Please contact the Commons @ Cravens for off campus access information.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or eBooks using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Topic | Call Number Range | Cravens Floor |
|---|---|---|
| Acoustics | QC 221 - QC 246 | 8 |
| Agricultural Physics | S 588 - S 589.6 | 8 |
| Astronomy | QB | 8 |
| Astrophysics | QB 460 - QB 466 | 8 |
| Biomagnetism and Biophysics | QH 504 | 8 |
| Electric Circuits and Networks | TK 452 - TK 454.4 | 8 |
| Geomagnetism | QC 811 - QC 849 | 8 |
| Geophysics | QE 801 - QE 809 | 8 |
| Mathematics |
QA |
8 |
| Nuclear / Particle Physics | QC 770 - QC 798 | 8 |
| Optics | QC 350 - QC 467 | 8 |
| Physics | QC | 8 |
| Technology | T | 8 |
