Research Guides: Gender and Women's Studies: Find Articles & More

Find Articles

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
This EBSCOhost database provides a large selection of articles in full-text.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes biographies, diaries and letters of North American women.
Women Writiers Online
Contains rare or difficult to obtain works written or co-authored by women from the sixteenth century to the mid nineteenth century in the English language.
JSTOR
Provides access to journals, primary sources, and thematic collections relating to Arts and Sciences.
Human Rights Studies Online
Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.
LGBT Thought and Culture
An online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality and Gender:

Find Background Information

Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence by Janet M. Bennett (Editor)
ISBN: 1452244286
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
The SAGE Handbook of Feminist Theory by Marsha Henry (Editor); Hazel Johnstone (Editor); Sumi Madhok (Editor); Ania Plomien (Editor); Sadie Wearing (Editor); Mary Evans (Editor); Clare Hemmings (Editor)
ISBN: 1446252418
Publication Date: 2014-08-27
Women's Studies
ISBN: 9781135093891
Publication Date: 2013-02-11

Find Books

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.

If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):

HQ (family, marriage, women, Feminism)
HN (social history and condition)
PS (literature, women's writing, feminist literature)

Contact Your Librarian

Sara McCaslin

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

The Commons at Helm Library 2019

Subjects: Accounting, Analytics and Information Systems, Business, Business Data Analytics, Computer Information Systems, Economics, English, Finance, Management, Marketing & Sales, Special Collections