Research Guides: CIS205: Technology in Society and Business, Library Guide: Getting Started

Finding Resources at WKU Libraries

Finding resources for you CIS205 assignments will be quick and relatively easy when you have the right resources at your disposal. Below are a few of the most helpful WKU library resources.

NEWSPAPERS
Since most of your topics are very current, the best source of information will often turn out to be the newspapers and news services. Here are a few links to good news databases that offer broad-based sources covering all points of view:

Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newstream is a large database providing up-to-date access to most of the major newspapers both in the United States and Internationally.
NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis offers access to newspapers, wire services and many other sources of news and current information.

GENERAL RESEARCH DATABASES
Here a few links to large general-interest databases that will help you find articles of all types--popular, professional, and scholarly:

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
ABI/ Inform Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform Global has a business focus, but it includes materials from many disciplines.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is an excellent introduction to researching a topic and presenting a professional, rationale argument for your point of view. It includes overviews of current controversial topics, along with a background of the controversy, timelines, facts & graphs, resources & bibliographies, and examples of professional writers arguing the pros and cons of an issue. First, here are some guides to get you started using CQ Researcher.

CQ Researcher: WKU Video Guide

And here is the link to CQ Researcher:

CQ Researcher Online (Congressional Quarterly Database) This link opens in a new window
Contains in-depth, non-biased pro/con coverage of political and social issues.

Opposing Viewpoint: In Context
In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana.