Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
limit: two simultaneous users.
Includes: Primary Law with KeyCite, Corpus Juris Secundum, Analytical Library, Primary Law, Law Reviews & Journals, RegulationsPlus, and related documents
Provides access to full-text news, business, legal publications, and national and regional newspapers.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Offers highly ranked global and scholarly journals along with current news and coverage of trends and events in accounting and tax.
Contains legal journals and resources including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Statutes at Large, and the Congressional Record (1873 to present). Full contents.
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
Everything you wanted to know about the law, but couldn't afford to ask. How do I get a collection agency to stop harassing me? What are the pros and cons of thedifferent types of adoption? Do I need a copyright for my YouTube videos? What are my rightswhen it comes to a noisy neighbor? Like it or not, the law affects practically every aspect of our lives, and legal questions can come up daily. Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law has the answers you need to make sound decisions wherever the law touches your life. Written by Nolo's expert team of attorneys, the book provides concise, plain-English answers to hundreds of the most frequently asked legal questions about everyday legal issues, including: credit, debt, and bankruptcy landlord-tenant law wills, living trusts, and estate planning workplace rights Social Security divorce, child custody, and visitation copyright, lawsuits, and more.
Legal Research by
Legal Research: Take the law into your own hands Do you have legal questions at home, at work, or as part of law-related course work? Legal Research provides everything you need, laying out easy-to-follow research methods that will help you find the right answers. Find out how to: locate and understand statutes, regulations, and cases make sure your research is 100% up to date, and organize your research results into a memorandum of law for use at school, at work, or in court. Completely updated for the 18th edition, Legal Research shows you how to find statutes, cases, background information, and answers to specific legal questions online. Even more important, you'll be guided to the most reliable and user-friendly sites, so you won't drown in an information flood. Lots of examples and easy-to-understand instructions teach you how to master all the basic legal research tools, including: online search engines reliable free legal websites legal encyclopedias, periodicals, and treatises annotated legal codes and statutes published reports of state and federal court cases case digests and Shepard's Citations, and the best legal blogs.
Search the full-text of all these titles:
The Oxford Companion to American Law
The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia
Guide to Latin in International Law
A Dictionary of Law
A Dictionary of Law Enforcement
The New Oxford Companion to Law
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions
Scholarly books are much longer than articles, and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, the call number for books on law and legal topics is K. There is also a Law Collection on the 9th floor of the Cravens Library.
