Research Guides: Social Work: Social Work & Social Policy

Find Social Policy Issues

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being
Government-sponsored website on social issues affecting children, such as food insecurity.
Kids Count: The Annie E. Casey Foundation
Devoted to helping children at risk of poor educational, economic, social and health outcomes. Kids Count [p]rovid[es] state legislators, public officials and child advocates with data, policy recommendations and tools to advance policies benefiting children and families.
Child Welfare Information Gateway
Government-sponsored information on child welfare, child abuse, and foster care.
Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
Lists model intervention programs.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Preventiion. Model Programs Guide
Evidence-based programs promoting healthy development in children and young adults.

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (formerly HCFA)
Learn about government-sponsored health care for elderly, disabled, low-income Americans.
National Center for Drug Abuse Statistics
Noteworthy data regarding drug abuse, overdose deaths, addiction, demographics, mental health, treatment programs, and the War on Drugs.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Federal agency - part of National Institutes of Health.
Partnership to End Addiction
Formed by merger of Partnership for Drug-Free Kids and The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse (CASA).

SAMHSA: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
Government-sponsored site - learn about self-help and how to find help for others experiencing mental health issues and drug addiction.
National Alliance on Mental Illness
Nationwide organization to promote mental health. WKU has a campus affiliate group sponsored by Dr. Jay Gabbard.

WEX (Cornell Law School)
Layperson-friendly, crowd- sourced, free online legal dictionary and encyclopedia from Cornell Law School. Good for identifying laws/regulations on your topic.
Three branches of government (U.S.)
Federal Laws and Regulations (U.S.)
Find (Federal) Bills by Policy and Subject Area
Search Congress.gov for bills
Legislative Research Commission (Kentucky)
General information and research publications.
Congress.gov
Kentucky General Assembly
LInk to online primary sources of Kentucky legislation (KRS) and administrative law (KAR). Has [Bills] tab.
Kentucky Bill Watch
Search and track Kentucky bills. Requires free registration.
ky.gov
Search by keyword or topic for background information on KY law.
WKU Libraries Research Guide (Law)
Uniform Laws and Model Acts (includes free sources)
Sources for preformulated suggested wording

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains legal journals and resources including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Statutes at Large, and the Congressional Record (1873 to present). Full contents.
WestLaw This link opens in a new window
limit: two simultaneous users.
Includes: Primary Law with KeyCite, Corpus Juris Secundum, Analytical Library, Primary Law, Law Reviews & Journals, RegulationsPlus, and related documents

ProCon
Pros and cons of controversial issues.
CRS Reports
Congressional Research Service background information on key issues.
Policy Issues -- NASW
Policy agenda with advocacy priorities for the legislative cycle.

Sociology Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes ERIC, IBSS, PILOTS, ProQuest Sociology, Social Services Abstracts, and Sociological Abstracts.
CQ Researcher Online (Congressional Quarterly Database) This link opens in a new window
Contains in-depth, non-biased pro/con coverage of political and social issues.

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Helm Library Room 2018

Subjects: Allied Health, Applied Human Sciences, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Fashion and Interior Design, Health and Wellness, Nursing, Physical Therapy, Public Health and Medicine, Social Work