Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use our library databases of one of the resources listed below.
Encyclopedia of Public Health by 
Encyclopedia of Public Health by Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Core database for research in psychology and related fields.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains full text of scholarly nursing journals since 1981.
Access provided by KYVL.
Indexes doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and European universities from 1861 to the present.
Links to the National Institutes of Health's website with information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues written in lay language.
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Citation from 1980 - current.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers.
Medicine and the State RA1-RA418.5:
| Subject | Call # Range |
| Health Boards | RA5, RA11-RA388 |
| Health Planning | RA394.9-RA395 |
| Medical Practice Regulation | RA396-RA399 |
| Health Status Indicators Medical Statistics and Surveys |
RA407-RA409.5 |
| Provisions for Medical Care Health Plans |
RA411-RA415 |
| Medical Sociology | RA418-RA418.5 |
See Additional Library of Congress Subject Headings: Community Health Services NT; Medical Care BT; Regional Medical Programs UF
NOTE: Most textbooks are held behind the Circulation Desk in Cravens Library - 4th Floor.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers.
Public Health/Hygiene/Preventive Medicine RA421-RA790.5:
| Subject | Call # Range |
| Health Risk Assessment | RA427.3, RA566.27 |
| Public Health Laboratories | RA428-RA428.5 |
| Public Health Research | RA440.85-RA440.87 |
| World Health | RA441 |
| Women's Health Services | RA564.85 |
| Environmental Health | RA565-RA600 |
| Burial | RA625-RA630 |
| Epidemiology | RA648.5-RA767 |
| Public Health Surveillance | RA652.2 P82 |
| Housing and Health | RA770 |
| Rural Health | RA771-RA771.7 |
| Personal Health | RA733-RA788 |
| Mental Health | RA790-RA790.5 |
| Medical Geography | RA791-RA940 |
| Medical Centers | RA960-RA1000.5 |
| Legal Medicine | RA1001-RA1017 |
See Additional Library of Congress Subject Headings: Community Health Services NT; Medical Care BT; Regional Medical Programs UF
NOTE: Most textbooks are held behind the Circulation Desk in Cravens Library - 4th Floor.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers.
Other Related LC Headings:
| Subject | Call # Range |
| Food Adulteration and Inspection | HD9000.9, TX501-TX595 |
| School Hygiene | LB3401-LB3495 |
| History of Medicine | R131-R687 |
| Medical Informatics | R858-R859.7 |
| Medical Records | R864 |
| Community Health Services - Children | RJ101-RJ103 |
| Dental Public Health | RK52-RK52.45 |
| Dairy Inspection | SF255 |
| Veterinary Public Health | SF740 |
| Sanitary Engineering | TD |
See Additional Library of Congress Subject Headings: Community Health Services NT; Medical Care BT; Regional Medical Programs UF
NOTE: Most textbooks are held behind the Circulation Desk in Cravens Library - 4th Floor.
