Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use one of the encyclopedias or other resources listed below.
Links to the National Institutes of Health's website with information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues written in lay language.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Education by 
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by 
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by 
Nursing Leadership by Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Contains full text of scholarly nursing journals since 1981.
Access provided by KYVL.
Dynamed publishes clinically-organized topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis, management, and comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions, and abnormal findings.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Core database for research in psychology and related fields.
Access provided by KYVL.
A bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments abstracted from journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.
Provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
To shelf-browse the library's collection of physical books, visit the Cravens Library 8th Floor and look for the following call number ranges.
| Subject | Call # Range |
| Oncology Nursing |
RC266 |
| Geriatrics | RC952-RC954.6 |
| Orthopedic Nursing | RD753 |
| Maternity Nursing | RG951 |
| Pediatric Nursing | RJ245 |
|
Diet Therapy |
RM216 |
| Nursing | RT1-RT120 |
| Communication in Nursing | RT23 |
| Nursing Writing | RT24 |
| Medical-Surgical Nursing | RT44 |
| Nursing Assessment and Diagnoses | RT48 |
| Nursing Care Plans | RT49 |
| Nursing Informatics | RT50.5 |
| Nursing - Profession Nurse Practitioners |
RT82-RT84 |
| Nursing Theory Nursing Models |
RT84.5 |
| Nursing Ethics Standards |
RT85 |
| Transcultural Nursing | RT86.54 |
| Nursing Administration | RT89 |
| Public Health Community Health Nursing |
RT97-RT98 |
| Emergency Nursing | RT120.E4 |
| Family Nursing | RT120.F34 |
| Intensive Care Nursing | RT120.I5 |
NOTE: Most textbooks are held behind the Circulation Desk in Cravens Library - 4th Floor.
