Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. Use one of these encyclopedias.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Human Communication Sciences and Disorders by 
Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Core database for research in psychology and related fields.
Access provided by KYVL.
The Educational Resources Information Center contains abstracts of journal articles in the field of education since 1966.
Access provided by KYVL.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
Most current dental hygiene books are online. To browse our physical holdings, look in the Cravens Library - 8th Floor for the following call number ranges.
Note: Most textbooks are held behind the Circulation Desk in Cravens Library - 4th Floor.
ILL for Books
Can't find the book you're looking for? Visit our Interlibrary Loan page to request a copy at no cost to you. Wait times may vary for physical materials.
Note: Textbooks are not available through ILL.
Not sure how ILL works? Using Interlibrary Loan for Books (Video Tutorial)
