Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Provides full text of periodicals, reference books, primary source documents, and more on virtually every subject area of general interest, back to 1975.
Access provided by KYVL.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Folklore, cultural performances, and popular entertainments: a communications-centered handbook by 
Turn the World Upside Down: empire and unruly forms of Black folk culture in the U.S. and Caribbean by 
Environmental humanities in folktales : theory and practice by 
From Lapland to Sápmi: Collecting and Returning Sámi Craft and Culture by 
The Legacy of the Goddess: Heroines, Warriors and Witches from World Mythology to Folktales and Fairy Tales by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Historic Preservation | |
| Preservation, restoration, and conservation of antiques | CC135-CC137 |
| Historic preservation (United States) | E159 |
| Historic preservation (Law and legislation) | K4310 |
| Architecture and Buildings. Preservation and Restoration | NA105-NA108 |
| Folklore |
GR1-950 |
| Folk Literature (General) Including folktales, legends | GR72-79 |
| Folk Beliefs, superstitions, etc. (General) | GR81 |
| By region or country | GR99.6-390 |
| By subject | GR420-950 |
| Costume, jewelry | GR420-426 |
| Folklore relating to private life, including dreams, love, children, nursery rhymes, etc. | GR430-488 |
| Supernatural beings, demonology, fairies, ghosts, charms, etc. | GR500-615 |
| Cosmic phenomena, weather lore | GR620-640 |
|
Geographical topics |
GR650-690 |
| Animals, plants, and minerals | GR700-860 |
| Transportation, travel, commerce, etc. | GR865-874 |
| Medicine. Folk medicine | GR880 |
| Occupations | GR890-915 |
| Signs and symbols | GR931-935 |
| Mythical places | GR940-941 |
| Music (folk, national and ethnic) | ML3544-3776 |
| Folk Art (America) | NK805-NK835 |
