Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Offers highly ranked global and scholarly journals along with current news and coverage of trends and events in accounting and tax.
Contains tax accounting news and research materials for the accounting industry.
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
Provides access to full-text news, business, legal publications, and national and regional newspapers.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the resources listed below.
Accountants' Handbook: Financial Accounting and General Topics by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Accounting (Full range) | HF5601 - HF5689 |
| Accounting Standards | HF5626 |
| Managerial Accounting | HF5657.4 |
| Auditing | HF5667 - HF5668.25 |
| Accounting - Data Processing | HF5667.12 |
| Tax Accounting | HF5681.T3 |
| Cost Accounting | HF5686.C8 |
| Income Tax | HJ4629 - HJ4830 |
| Finance, Public - Accounting | HJ9701 - HJ9995 |
| Municipal Finance - Accounting | HJ9771 - HJ9779 |
