Research Guides: Economics: Find Articles & More

Find Articles

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

ABI/ Inform Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of journals in the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, law, and economics.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
The full text archive of working papers from the National Bureau of Economics Research (NBER), from 1973 to the present. (Note: these papers have not been peer reviewed, so they may not be considered scholarly sources)
Checkpoint This link opens in a new window
Contains tax accounting news and research materials for the accounting industry.

Find Background Information

Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Includes background information on a variety of subjects in the form of encyclopedia articles, full-text journal and magazine articles, primary sources, and multimedia.

21st Century Economics: a Reference Handbook by Rhona C. Free (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412961424
Publication Date: 2010-05-14
Provides highly readable summaries of theory and models in key areas of micro and macroeconomics, helpful for students trying to get a "big picture" sense of the field. Includes introductions to relevant theory as well as empirical evidence, useful for readers interested in learning about economic analysis of an issue as well for students embarking on research projects.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society by Frederick F. Wherry (Editor); Juliet B. Schor (Editor)
ISBN: 1452217971
Publication Date: 2015-12-08
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.

Find Books

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.

If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):

Subject	Call # Range
Economics	HB1- HB3840, HC10- HC1085, HD28-HD9999
Economics, general	HB1-HB130
Economics-history	HB75-HB130
Economics-mathematics	HB135
Economics-statistical methods	HB137
Econometrics	HB139
Microeconomics	HB172
Macroeconomics	HB172.5
Economic forecasting	HB3730
Economic assistance	HC59.8-HC60.5
Environmental economics	HC79.E5
Managerial economics	HD30.22
Economic development	HD72-HD88
Economic policy	HD87
Labor economics	HD4901
International economic relations	HF1351-HF1359
Urban economics	HT321
Law and economics	K487.E3

Contact Your Librarian

Sara McCaslin

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

The Commons at Helm Library 2019

270-745-6166

Subjects: Accounting, Analytics and Information Systems, Business, Business Data Analytics, Computer Information Systems, Economics, English, Finance, Management, Marketing & Sales, Special Collections