Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Access provided by KYVL. Please contact the Commons @ Cravens for off campus access information.
The Palgrave Encyclopedia of Strategic Management by 
Encyclopedia of Management Theory by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Management | HD28 - HD70 |
| Entrepreneurship | HB615 |
| Strategic Planning | HD30.28 |
| Organizational Behavior | HD58.7 |
| Total Quality Management | HD62.15 |
| International business enterprises | HD62.4 |
| Industrial Relations | HD6958.5 - HD6971 |
| Personnel management | HF5549 - HF5549.5 |
| Compensation Management | HF5549.5C67 |
| Employees, Training of | HF5549.5T7 |
| Business Law | KF871 - KF890 |
| Production management | TS155 |
| Production Planning | TS176 |
News sources can be helpful for discovering a topic or learning about recent developments on an issue. Note that because news covers current events, those events may not be discussed yet in scholarly articles or books, which take longer to publish.
News Databases (search multiple news sources at once):
WKU’s core newspaper database, including international, national and regional papers.
Provides access to full-text news, business, legal publications, and national and regional newspapers.
Specific News Sources:
