Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A collection of scholarly, government and general interest titles covering all aspects of human impact to the environment in a variety of disciplines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Provides access to the Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Citation from 1980 - current.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar is a useful way to find research articles, book chapters and more, which can supplement what can be found in the library's databases.
However, Google Scholar does not have as sophisticated search filters and metadata about its search results, unlike library databases that do have search filters and metadata. These capabilities allow for better filtering and curation of search results.
Your librarian recommends these reasons for using Google Scholar:
Remember to filter by "Review Articles"!
Also, connect your Google Scholar with the WKU Libraries databases! Learn how to connect here
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.
Access provided by KYVL. Please contact the Commons @ Cravens for off campus access information.
A comprehensive reference resource for science research.
Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or eBooks using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Topic | Call Number Range | Cravens Floor |
|---|---|---|
| Agricultural Meteorology | S 600 | 8 |
| Chemistry | QD | 8 |
| Disasters / Engineering | TA 495 | 8 |
| Hydrometeorology | GB 2801 - GB 2998 | 6 |
| Hydrology | GB 651 - GB 2998 | 6 |
| Meteorology / Climatology | QC 851 - QC 999 | 8 |
| Natural Disasters | GB 5000 - GB 5030 | 6 |
| Ocean-Atmosphere Interaction | GC 190 - GC 190.5 | 6 |
| Oceanography | GC | 6 |
| Physical Geography | GB | 6 |
| Radiation Physics | QC 474 - QC 496.9 | 8 |
| Thermodynamics / Heat | QC 251 - QC 319 | 8 |
| Weather Lore / Cosmic Phenomena | GR 620 - GR 640 | 6 |
