Research Guides: Newspapers & News Databases: Newspapers

Newspapers online: find newspaper articles and databases

Current Newspaper Databases:

Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Newstream is the core resource for news and newspapers at WKU Libraries. It provides access to thousands of sources, both domestic and international, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Times of London, and the Financial Times, as well as access to wire services and broadcast transcripts, and historical issues of the Washington Post, New York Times, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis Academic provides access to over 10,000 full-text news, business, and legal publications, including national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 170 alternative and independent newspapers, magazines and journals.
Bowling Green Daily News This link opens in a new window
Current access to BG Daily News is purchased on a subscription basis, and requires a username and password. Visit the Reference Desk in Cravens Library, or call 270-745-6125 for more information.

Historic Newspaper Databases:

African American Newspapers archive This link opens in a new window
Includes the Canadian Observer, Christian Recorder, Colored American, Douglass Monthly, Frederick Douglass Paper, Freedom's Journal, Freedmen's Record, National Era, Negro Business League Herald, North Star, Provincial Freeman, and the Weekly Advocate.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Contains digitally scanned newspapers, including Cincinnati Daily Gazette (1835 - 1883), New York Herald (1844 - 1898), Philadelphia Public Ledger (1836 - 1876), Kentucky Gazette (1794-1837), True American (1845-1846), Louisville Daily Courier (1853-1868) . Some years of coverage are missing.
Bowling Green Daily News Archive (Park City Daily News) This link opens in a new window
Access to the BG Daily News Archive (from 1902) available on campus only.
Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Los Angeles Times (Historic, 1881-2014) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, 1881-1994.
Louisville Courier Journal 1830-2000 This link opens in a new window
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Times (London) Digital Archive, 1785 - 2012 This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2012.

Find Newspaper Articles in One Search

One Search (Primo) This link opens in a new window
Search across the WKU Libraries catalog and databases to discover books, articles, films, and more.

Enter your keywords or topic and click "Search." You can then filter your results: under "Resources Type" select "Newspaper Articles"

Or, search by the name of the newspaper. For example, if you search "New York Times" you will see both the print and electronic availability:

Newspapers & News Databases: Newspapers

Online access to major daily newspapers

Newspapers online: find newspaper articles and databases

Find Newspaper Articles in One Search