Skip to Main Content

FAQs: Permalinks

What is a Permalink?

A permalink is a persistent or stable URL that takes users directly to an article, e-book, or video from on or off campus. They are similar to a DOI, but they also include authentication information for off campus users. 

Why should I use permalinks?

  • Linking is the best way to comply with copyright law (many vendor license agreements prohibit posting PDFs). 
  • Permalinks allow the library to collect usage statistics, which are used to determine what resources we keep. (We do not track any personal information).
  • Electronic articles are more likely to be ADA compliant than PDFs. 

 

Permalinks to the library catalog

Search the WKU Library catalog for an article, e-book, or video. Click "..." to the right of the item:

book title from library catalog with three dots highlighted

Click "permalink" and copy the URL:

book title from library catalog with permalink icon highlighted

When users click the link they will see a record like this: 

book title from library catalog with link to full text highlighted

When they click the link under "View Online" they will be prompted to log in with their netID and password and can then access the full text resource. 

Permalinks to database content

You can permalink to content in most library databases. For example, in any EBSCO database click the title of the article to which you want to link:

sample article title from EBSCO database

This will take you to the full text of the article or to the detailed record. Under detailed record click the permalink icon and copy the URL:

article record from database with permalink icon highlighted

Adding Permalinks to Blackboard

Create a reading list in Blackboard!

  1. Go to "Build Content" and select "Web Link."
  2. Type the name of the article, e-book, or video in the "Name" field and paste the permalink in the "URL" field.