Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Contains abstracts and some full text articles in the communication field.
WKU’s core newspaper database, including international, national and regional papers.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains the full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, 1881-1994.
Provides access to full-text news, business, legal publications, and national and regional newspapers.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the reference resources listed below.
The SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society by 
Communication Law: Practical Applications in the Digital Age by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| Broadcasting |
PN1990-1992.92 |
| Radio Broadcasts | PN1991-1991.9 |
| Television broadcasts | PN1992-1992.92 |
| Journalism. The periodical press, newspapers, etc. | PN4699-5650 |
| Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press | PN4735-4748 |
| Press/Media Law | KF2750 |
| Technique. Practical journalism | PN4775-4784 |
| Amateur journalism | PN4825-4830 |
| Magazines and other periodicals | PN4832-4836 |
| By region or country | PN4840-5648 |
| The Jewish press | PN5650 |
|
Photography (Photo/Visual journalism) |
TR1-840 TR820 |
