Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.
To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.
If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.
Provides access to a variety of English-language journals published in the social sciences, 1983-present.
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Contains social science research data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS or SPSS. Users must create an individual account to access data. Getting Started Using ICPSR (WKU Guide)
limit: two simultaneous users.
Includes: Primary Law with KeyCite, Corpus Juris Secundum, Analytical Library, Primary Law, Law Reviews & Journals, RegulationsPlus, and related documents
Indexes and abstracts journals, reports, and documents relating to criminal justice and law enforcement, 1972-present
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia or one of the reference sources listed below.
Advancing Culturally Responsive Research and Researchers: qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods by 
The Routledge International Handbook of Public Sociology by 
Born This Way: science, citizenship, and inequality in the American LGBTQ+ movement by 
Environmental Sociology and Social Transformation : Key Issues by Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.
If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):
| Subject | Call # Range |
|---|---|
| History of Sociology. History of sociological theory |
HM435-477 |
| Schools of sociology. Schools of social thought | HM461-473 |
|
Theory. Method. Relations to other subjects |
HM481-554 |
| Culture | HM621-656 |
| Social control | HM661-696 |
| Social systems | HM701 |
| Social structure | HM706 |
| Groups and organizations | HM711-806 |
| Deviant behavior. Social deviance | HM811-821 |
| Social institutions | HM826 |
| Social change | HM831-901 |
| Social psychology | HM1001-1281 |
| Social perception. Social cognition | HM1041-1101 |
| Interpersonal relations. Social behavior | HM1106-1171 |
| Social influence. Social pressure | HM1176-1281 |
| Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform | HN1-995 |
| The church and social problems | HN30-39 |
| Community | HM756-781 |
| Community centers. Social centers | HN41-46 |
| Sexual life | HQ12-449 |
| The family. Marriage. Home | HQ503-1064 |
| Gay Rights Movement. Gay Liberation Movement. Homophile Movement | HQ76.5-76,8 |
|
Rural groups. Rural sociology |
HT401-485 |
| Classes | HT601-1445 |
| Races | HT1501-1595 |
| Criminology | HV6001-9960 |
| Citizenship (Political Rights/Participation) | JF799-1177 |
