DATABASES
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
WEBSITES
REFERENCE BOOKS
Encyclopedia of Africa by
The Encyclopedia of Africa presents the most up-to-date and thorough reference on this region of ever-growing importance in world history, politics, and culture. Its core is comprised of the entries focusing on African history and culture from 2005's acclaimed five-volume Africana - nearly two-thirds of these 1,300 entries have been updated, revised, and expanded to reflect the most recent scholarship. Organized in an A-Z format, the articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religions, ethnic groups, organizations, and countries throughout Africa. There are articles on contemporary nations of sub-Saharan Africa, ethnic groups from various regions of Africa, and European colonial powers. Other examples include Congo River, Ivory trade, Mau Mau rebellion, and Pastoralism. The Encyclopedia of Africa is sure to become the essential resource in the field.
Encyclopedia of South Africa by
This authoritative, comprehensive reference work covers South Africa's history, government and politics, law, society and culture, economy and infrastructure, demography, environment, and more, from the era of human origins to the present.
Historical Dictionary of Burundi by
The Republic of Burundi, a small, but densely populated country in Sub-Saharan Africa, gained its independence from Belgium in 1962. It is most widely known as being the site of fierce and bloody warfare between its two main ethnic groups: the Hutus and the Tutsis. Years of ethnic warfare have claimed hundreds of thousands of lives, and only recently has there been a lessening of the bloodshed. However, with democratically elected leaders replacing military dictators and peace becoming more prevalent than war, the future is looking bright for Burundi. The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of Burundi is an important reference made all the more so by the extreme lack of information available on the country. Informing not only about the present and the recent past, the book presents the country's early history as well, which serves to reveal the sources of conflict. This is accomplished through a chronology, a list of acronyms and abbreviations, an introductory essay, appendixes, a bibliography, and several hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on history, politics, economy, society and culture.
The Nile by
This book provides an avenue for students to explore the Nile--the world's longest river--and better understand its larger role in society in the past, present, and future.The Nile River has been the most important natural resource for Egyptians and other Africans who live along its shores for thousands of years, bringing life to an otherwise arid and bleak desert region. Without the Nile, civilizations in Egypt could not have achieved such success. The physical, cultural, religious, and political impacts of this mighty riverway are enormous. This one-volume encyclopedia explores a breadth of topics related to the Nile River, from ancient irrigation techniques to 19th-century exploration and from current environmental controversies to concerns regarding man-made Lake Nasser. Readers will be able to explore beyond the physical aspects of the world's longest river to achieve an understanding of the Nile River's larger role in society.After a preface and introduction that provides general background information on the source, tributaries, and mouth of the Nile, the encyclopedia presents thematic essays that cover topics such as the Nile's physical geography; history; environmental issues and controversies; culture, religion, and legend; and politics. More than 100 entries cover key individuals, specific locations, geology and structure, significant expeditions, gods and deities, and folklore related to the Nile. In addition, the work provides an appendix of primary document excerpts from explorers' journals and more recent legislation on damming as well as an appendix of place names, interesting sidebars, and a helpful chronology of key events.
Encyclopedia of the Yoruba by
"The encyclopedia gives a complex, yet detailed, presentation of the Yorùbá, a dominant ethnic group in West Africa . . . an invaluable resource." --Yoruba Studies ReviewThe Yoruba people today number more than thirty million strong, with significant numbers in the United States, Nigeria, Europe, and Brazil. This landmark reference work emphasizes Yoruba history, geography and demography, language and linguistics, literature, philosophy, religion, and art. The 285 entries include biographies of prominent Yoruba figures, artists, and authors; the histories of political institutions; and the impact of technology and media, urban living, and contemporary culture on Yoruba people worldwide. Written by Yoruba experts on all continents, this encyclopedia provides comprehensive background to the global Yoruba and their distinctive and vibrant history and culture."Readers unfamiliar with the Yoruba will find the introduction a concise and valuable overview of their language and its dialects, recent history, mythology and religion, and diaspora movements . . . Highly recommended." --Choice
