Research Guides: History: Useful Websites

Professional Associations

Professional societies allow academics, professionals, and students within a particular discipline to network and share their research, products, and endeavors.

As students, you can take advantage of participating in these associations. Here are some perks of becoming a member as a student:

Reduced membership fees
Reduced conference registration rates
Scholarship and grant opportunities
Access to job and internship listings
Mentorship programs (depends on the society)
Access to many resources on various research areas

American Historical Association
A major organization for historians, founded in 1884. The AHA encompasses every historical period and geographical area.
Organization of American Historians
One of the major organizations for historians, founded in 1907 to promote US history teaching and scholarship.
Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association
Founded in 1971 as a spin-off of the American Studies movement, the PCA/ACA promotes a holistic approach to cultural studies, holds an annual conference, and publishes two journals: Journal of Popular Culture and Journal of American Culture.
Society of Early Americanists
he purpose of this Society is to further the exchange of ideas and information among scholars of various disciplines who study the literature and culture of America to approximately 1830.
Kentucky Historical Society
The Kentucky Historical Society (KHS) was formed in 1836 by a group of prominent Kentuckians intent on preserving the history of the Commonwealth. We are a membership organization with members from Kentucky and around the world.

Libraries, Archives, & Manuscript Repositories

These collections contain historical information on many specific areas, including much primary source material.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online
New York Public Library Digital Collections
The National Archives of the UK
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections
The mission of the NUCMC program is to provide and promote bibliographic access to the nation's documentary heritage. This mission is realized by NUCMC production of cataloging describing archival and manuscript collections held by eligible repositories located throughout the United States and its territories.
Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
FedFlix
Films produced by the US government, from Internet Archive
Documenting the American South Collection
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture, from University of North Carolina.
The Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
From the Yale Law School library
Europeana
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage.
Perseus Digital Library
From Tufts University, this collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
From Fordham University, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use.
Asia for Educators Primary Sources
PDFs of primary sources translated into English from China, Japan, Korea, and Vietnam

Maps

History Maps
A large collection of interactive maps on many different aspects of world history.
Library of Congress Map Collections
Oculus Mundi
Oculi Mundi is a digital heritage destination: the home of The Sunderland Collection of world maps, celestial maps, atlases, globes and books of knowledge.
Native Land Digital
Enter an address or zoom in to discover what Native American groups lived in a particular area
River Runner
Click on any location in the US to follow the local waterway to the sea
Earth Sciences & Map Library
The Earth Sciences & Map Library at the University of California - Berkeley welcomes all community members to explore our extensive resources, including one of the largest map collections in California. You’ll also find materials covering earth sciences, physical geography, atmospheric science, cartography, and geospatial science, and a variety of study and collaborative spaces.
Hargrett Library Rare Map Collection
Rare maps from American History back to 1625, from the University of Georgia
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
This collection of historical maps at the University of Texas includes over 50,000 maps from around the world.

Other Websites of Interest

American History: from Pre-Columbian to the New Millennium
A detailed outline of American history from the Independence Hall Association
History Guide
The History Guide is a specialist catalog of historical websites from University of Goettingen
Best of History Websites
Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.
British History Online
British History Online is a collection of nearly 1300 volumes of primary and secondary content relating to British and Irish history, and histories of empire and the British world. BHO also provides access to 40,000 images and 10,000 tiles of historic maps of the British Isles.
The Labyrinth - Resources for Medieval Studies
From Georgetown University, this website contains medieval studies primary and secondary resources from around the world