Primary sources are first-hand accounts of people and events from history. They include letters, diaries, memoirs, and interviews. Official records such as government reports and memoranda, newspaper reporting, and church and court records can also be considered primary sources. Historians use these resources to inform our views of the past and enrich our understanding of the present.
Contains significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in UK research libraries.
Currently includes 2,009 authors and 100,000 pages of diaries, letters, memoirs and biographies.
Provides millions of primary source, full text/full-image documents on the most widely studied topics in 19th and 20th-century American history.
Searchable database of information, essays and encyclopedic entries on Latino history and culture.
To access the NAACP papers, click on the Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle icon on the main History Vault page.
ProQuest History Vault's coverage of the Black Freedom Struggle offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
Contains the largest compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
Includes biographies, diaries and letters of North American women.
Contains full text documents covering the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Contains the full text of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, 1881-1994.
