Research Guides: Marketing: Find Articles & More

Find Articles

Academic articles contain original research on a narrow topic. They are usually peer-reviewed and are published in scholarly journals.

To find articles on your topic, use keywords to search in one of the databases listed below. For additional help, check out our tutorial on finding scholarly / peer-reviewed articles.

If the article you want isn't available in full text you can request it for free from Interlibrary Loan.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A large multi-subject database covering every topic with scholarly journals and popular magazines.
Access provided by KYVL.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of journals in the fields of marketing, management, accounting, finance, law, and economics. Access provided by KYVL.
ABI/ Inform Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains articles back to 1991, many full text, in the fields of business, management, finance, law, and more.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Core database for research in psychology and related fields.
Access provided by KYVL.
MRI-Simmons Insights Platform (Mediamark) This link opens in a new window
MRI Simmons contains data about consumer behavior, demographics, and preferences based on the Simmons National Consumer Survey.
10 concurrent users, IP authenticated

Find Background Information

Background information gives you a general overview of a topic and is a great way to find keywords and learn basic concepts. You can use Wikipedia, or one of the encyclopedias listed below.

The SAGE Handbook of Digital Marketing by Annmarie Hanlon (Editor); Tracy L. Tuten (Editor)
ISBN: 9781529743791
Publication Date: 2022-09-01
This Handbook strives to advance the study and understanding of this domain and provides a digital marketing journey that flows from methods and methodologies. It moves from the fundamentals to the different aspects of digital marketing strategy, tactics, metrics and management, and ethics.
The Complete Marketer by Malcolm McDonald; Mike Meldrum
ISBN: 9780749466770
Publication Date: 2013-05-03
The Complete Marketer is a solid introduction to the marketing discipline, which is broken down into easily digestible chapters on topics such as digital marketing, understanding consumers, understanding markets, market audits, segmentation, sales forecasting, mobile marketing, advertising and PR, and managing a sales team. It features clear diagrams and definitions throughout to make concepts easy to understand.
Marketing Strategy by Robert W. Palmatier; Shrihari Sridhar
Call Number: HF5415 .P36 2017
ISBN: 9781137526236
Publication Date: 2017-01-31
This is a brand new textbook on marketing strategy that focuses on the pursuit of solutions to four fundamental marketing problems: All customers differ; All customers change; All competitors react; All resources are limited. Structured around these four First Principles of Marketing, this important new textbook offers a unique and extensively classroom-tested approach to marketing strategy. It provides a structured framework to develop effective strategies to deal with diverse marketing problems while integrating data analytics into the decision-making process.

Find Books

Scholarly books are much longer than articles and they provide more depth and context. You can find physical books or e-books using the search box below. Try searching by subject, keyword, author, or title.

If you would like to browse the library's collection of physical books, check out the following call numbers (listed below by topic):

Subject	Call # Range
Marketing	HF5410- HF5417.5
Export Marketing	HF1416- HF1416.6
Marketing-Management	HF5415.13
Marketing Research	HF5415.2
Consumer Behavior	HF5415.32- HF5415.33
Purchasing	HF5437
Selling	HF5438- HF5439

Find News Articles

News sources can be helpful for discovering a topic or learning about recent developments on an issue. Note that because news covers current events, those events may not be discussed yet in scholarly articles or books, which take longer to publish.

News Databases (search multiple news sources at once):

Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
WKU’s core newspaper database, including international, national and regional papers.
NexisUni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, legal publications, and national and regional newspapers.

Specific News Sources:

Bloomberg
Business and financial news, market data, and more
Wall Street Journal
Online access to the leading daily business newspaper in the United States, includes full text from 1984 to the present
Reuters Business News
This site allows you to filter business news by industry