Research Guides: Health Sciences Research: Get Started

Getting Started with Library Research

Welcome to WKU Libraries! This guide is designed to help with health sciences research in general. Check out our subject-specific CHHS Library Research Guides for books, databases, professional websites, and other resources related to individual majors or programs.

OneSearch, our primary search system [think: Google for library resources], will help you get started on almost any research project! Looking for a certain database or journal? Use our A-Z Databases list and/or Journal Title Search. Both allow you to narrow sources by subject area.

Find Articles & More

Find Background Information
Find books and databases containing general health sciences information.
Find Articles
Learn which resources are best for finding health and human services articles.
Find Books
Look for physical and electronic books related to your subject area.
Find CHHS Research
Watch a video to learn more about health sciences research resources.

Help/How-To:

Database search techniques

What is a Library Database?
Learn what makes up our databases and how you can access them.
Using Our Databases
Learn basic search strategies and keyword recommendations.
Using Interlibrary Loan
Learn how to request full-text articles we don't have through ILL.
Sample Searches
Learn how to perform keyword searches in PubMed, CINAHL, and Google Scholar.
Boolean Operators and Iterative Searching
Learn how to enhance your keywords and what the research process looks like.
Tips & Tricks for Effective Research
Lists best research practices and effective keyword search strategies.

Help/How-To:

How do I find articles in PubMed?
Interactive tutorial from the National Library of Medicine.
How do I write a systematic review?
Research guide from WKU Libraries explaining the systematic review process.
How do I write an annotated bibliography?
Guide page from WKU Libraries explaining APA annotated bibliographies.

Evidence-Based Practice

What is Evidence-Based Practice?
How can EBP help my research?
EBP Resources
Learn more about EBP in Health Sciences.
Steps in EBP
What does EBP research look like?
EBP Evidence
Types of evidence classified by EBP.
The PICO Framework
Developing keyword searches for EBP.
Searching for Evidence
Where can I find evidence for EBP?
Other Frameworks
What are some non-PICO searches?

Wellness for College Students

Careers & Networking

Use and Cite Sources

Citation Guides & Style Manuals
Find library resources on citing your references correctly.

Help/How-To:

Contact Your Librarian

Brooke Gross

She/Her

Email Me

Contact:

Helm Library Room 2018

270-745-3912

Subjects: Allied Health, Applied Human Sciences, Communication Sciences and Disorders, Dentistry and Dental Hygiene, Fashion and Interior Design, Health and Wellness, Nursing, Physical Therapy, Public Health and Medicine, Social Work