Your guide to business research at WKU, with links to guides for specific business disciplines (e.g., accounting or finance), as well as other library resources
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013
Welcome to the Business Research Guides for Western Kentucky University Libraries. I have collected some useful business-related library resources on these pages. See the tabs at the top of the page for individual guides for each of the departments in the College of Business, along with guides to popular topics like International Business and Entrepreneurship.
These resources are only the beginning, however! Please feel free to contact me anytime you need help or advice on finding resources for your topic.
Many of the databases available at WKU are very helpful for business research. Below are a few of the most popular.
- ABI/Inform Global (ProQuest)
ABI/INFORM Global is a highly comprehensive business research database containing in-depth coverage for over 3,380 publications, with more than 2,380 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels.
- Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Business Source Premier offers the largest collection of general business research resources, including full text access to more than 2,200 journals. Excellent coverage of marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Also offers market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.
- NEWSSTAND (ProQuest)
WKU’s core newspaper database includes international, national and regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Washington Post, The Guardian, El Norte, Jerusalem Post, and South China Morning Post. Abstracting and indexing are available for the more than 1,370 newspapers in ProQuest Newsstand; of these, over 1,270 are full text.
- Google Scholar
Free open Web access to Google's scholarly search engine. It identifies articles and other scholarly resources across many disciplines and, thanks to Google's unique way of searching and sorting documents, it often provides results that don't come up through the other traditional research databases.*Directions for getting full text articles*
- LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic includes news sources, law databases, reference materials. For business researchers, there is information on companies, executives, accounting, news and many other useful resources.